PSO Officers, Board Members, and Staff




Board Members




 Newsletter Editor
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Pennsylvania Birds Editor
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


PSO Membership
Pennsylvania Birds Subscription Manager
Franklin Haas







The following is a list of the current committees of the PSO. We encourage members to participate in these working groups. If you have an interest in serving on one, feel free to contact the committee chair listed below.

Annual Meeting

Chair:  Open

Members: David Yeany, Julia Plummer, Chad Kauffman, Emily Thomas, Laura Jackson

Plan annual meeting, including virtual and in-person.


Awards and Nominations

Chair:  Deb Grove

Members:  Sandy Lockerman, Evan Mann, John Fedak, Doug Gross, Greg Gove, Jane Earle, Emily Thomas

This committee manages the Certificate of Appreciation program, the Conservation and Poole Awards selection process, and the Student Research Grant program.  They will assist the Board in identifying potential board members for nomination at annual business meetings.

1) Student Research Grants ($500) will be awarded to undergraduates or graduate students in pursuit of a bachelor’s degree, master’s degree, or doctorate. They will submit proposals describing their research that will be evaluated for their scientific merit and the likelihood that the work will make a meaningful contribution to our understanding of Pennsylvania avifauna. The application is available on the PSO website.

2) The committee will request nominations for the PSO Conservation award and the Earl Poole award that can be presented annually. The Conservation Award is presented to an individual or organization that has had a positive impact on bird conservation in Pennsylvania. The Earl Poole award is presented to a person or persons who have made significant contributions to Pennsylvania's ornithology.  Members will read nominating letters, discuss the merits of the nominee and vote to determine the recipient that will receive the award at the annual meeting.

3) As a token of PSO appreciation for  their hospitality a Certificate of Appreciation will be awarded to homeowners who host birders to view rare birds.


Citizen Science Committee

Chairs:  Doug Gross

Members:  Greg Grove, Eli DePaulis, David Yeany, Sean Murphy

Coordinate or sponsor projects



Chair: Laura Jackson

Members: Eli DePaulis, Brian Byrnes, David Yeany, Annette Mathes, Holly Merker

This committee is responsible for keeping the Society informed of conservation matters that pertain to birds, bird watching, and to undertake other conservation-related projects. With approval of Board of Directors, the committee will submit public comments on conservation matters.

  1. Promote avian conservation projects across the Commonwealth and surrounding states
  2. Raise awareness of conservation causes that impact Pennsylvania's avifauna
  3. Identify conservation issues appropriate for PSO involvement
  4. Identify and then communicate conservation issues resulting from data trends
  5. Write conservation articles for PSO newsletter
  6. Collaborate with other bird organizations such as Audubon, Delaware Ornithological Society, Maryland Ornithological Society, etc.



Chair: Tony DeSantis

Members: Eli DePaulis, Carole Winslow, Evan Mann, Emily Thomas

This committee will promote education in birding, the cultivation of the next generation of birders, and award youth scholarships to the Annual Meeting and and manage the Youth Camp scholarship program.


Events and Field Trips

Chairs:  Chad Kauffman

Members: Evan Mann, Tony DeSantis

This committee will plan, organize and conduct field trips and other group events.  They will organize the field trips at the yearly meeting in conjunction with bird clubs local to the meeting site.



Chair: Greg Grove, Editor

Editorial Board:  Nick Bolgiano, Mike Fialkovich, Dan Brauning, Geoff Malosh, Holly Merker, Rudy Keller, Deb Grove, Rob Dickerson, Frank Haas

This committee is responsible for the publication of four seasonal issues of Pennsylvania Birds with an emphasis on bird distribution and ornithological analysis and research within the Commonwealth.


Membership and Outreach

Chair:  Open

Members:  Chad Kauffman, Carole Winslow, Frank Haas, Evan Mann

This committee is responsible for promoting the Society, managing the Society’s social media activities, recruiting new members and welcoming them into the Society.


Pennsylvania Ornithological Records Committee

Chair: David Yeany II

George Armistead, Julia Plummer, Scott Stoleson, Annie Lindsay, Amy Davis, Corey Husic, Tessa Rhinehart (non-voting Secretary)


The Pennsylvania Ornithological Records Committee is recognized as a special committee within the Pennsylvania Society for Ornithology and operates with its own bylaws which are approved by the PSO Board of Directors. The goal of PORC is to maintain the Official List of the Birds of Pennsylvania, as well as keeping records of rare birds that occur within the state. This is done in a juried manner, with voting members.  New members of this committee are selected by its current members.



Editor: Margaret Higbee


Bylaws (ad hoc)

Chair: Deb Grove

Members: Evan Mann, Mike Fialkovich



Treasurer: Frank Haas



Webmaster: Frank Haas